You Said Wait

Today I revisited a poem I wrote for a college poetry class, with Professor Gail Wronsky back in 1998. It had been a while since I had explored the theme of nature/love/abandonment. After revising some terms, I feel it flows better now.

great-plaines

Great Plains image courtesy of World Wildlife Fund

You Said Wait

You told me to wait for you,

until you came back from catching grasshoppers.

I gathered twigs, grasses, water and dirt,

and with mud

built our abode.

And I waited.

 

You told me to wait for you,

until you came back from scaring off the crows.

I gathered sticks, wild cotton and boughs of pine,

and with love and thought

made our bed.

And I waited.

 

You told me to wait for you,

until you came back from fighting away the bears.

I gathered wild berries, fresh water, honey,

and the morels you like so much

and stocked our reserves.

And I waited again.

 

But you never came.

And the food spoiled,

and the bed stayed empty,

and the abode collapsed.

Life passed by me,

and I grew old.

About lindaruggeri

California native, raised in Argentina, lived in Southern Italy, a brief year in Canada and three nature filled years in Wisconsin. My specialties include observing and experiencing the "everyday", constantly questioning what to make of this life, reflecting on the paths chosen, the mistakes, the wise choices, the choices I'm avoiding. Wondering if the roads less traveled are really fulfilling (and if there are any roads less traveled left to explore).
Aside | This entry was posted in Abandonment, Love, Nature, Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

